Chapter History

The need for a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, IncorporatedĀ® in the Greater New Haven area was perceived by several members in the early 1960s.  On January 17, 1965, Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter was chartered in this city, and fifteen charter members rededicated themselves to the ideals of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Those fifteen members were Ann Boothe, Jean Cherry*, Emma Ruff*, Jean Downing, Vivian Haskins, Sara Lovelace*, Wordie Merritt*, Zelda Parks*, Janice Taylor, Judith Thompson, Thelma Thornton*, Agnes Timpson*, Gladys Whitney*, Alice Wiltshire-Cram and Edith Wolfrey. *Deceased

Since its chartering, Theta Epsilon Omega has not only grown in size, but also in the depth of services provided to the Greater New Haven community made possible by an extraordinary succession of dynamic leaders. 

Our Presidents



 Gladys Whitney* 1965-1966
 Agnes Timpson* 1967-1968
 Emma Ruff* 1969-1970
 Dora Brown 1971-1974
 Gloria Lovelace 1975-March 1976
 Emma Daniels April 1976-December 1976
 Jeffie R. Frazier 1977-1980
 Gladys Whitney* 1981-1984
 Carol Johnson 1985-1986
 Cheryl A. Pegues 1987-1990
 Martina J. Garris 1991-1994
 Rita Henderson 1995-1998
 Jonnie Lewis-Thorpe 1999-2000
 Katurah A. Bryant 2001-2004
 Doris J. Dumas 2005-2008
 Elicia Pegues Spearman 2009-2011
 Nicole C. Murphy 2011-2014
 Cathy R. Patton 2015-2016
 Khalilah L. Brown-Dean 2017-2018
 Shenae Draughn 2019-

Copyright Ā© 2021, Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter.  All rights reserved.  Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, IncorporatedĀ® is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages.  They are the sole property and responsibility of Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.       
Privacy Policy  •  Site Map  •  Browser Compatibility   Contact Webmaster 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
Share |